SAMA26 reaches for the heavens as it rains awards

It was a big night for rap superstar AKA as he emerged as a fan favourite winning the Music Video of the Year in a category voted for by the public. His song, Jika featuring Yanga Chief, secured a landslide victory in the penultimate instalment of the virtual five-part SAMA26 lockdown special.

Gospel legend Bishop Benjamin Dube received the Lifetime Achievement award for his maverick streak dating back to 1986 dedicating his life to music and his contribution is unmatched.

In his acceptance speech he urged South Africans to strive to leave a good legacy. “My first desire is to please God in everything and the rest will follow,” he said.

To seal the double whammy, Dube’s Glory in His Presence DVD earned him the Best Live Audio Visual Recording award.

Also taking home big honours was new talent Ami Faku, announced as the winner of the coveted Female Artist of the Year for her debut album Imali. The award was presented by the accomplished composer/vocalist and previous SAMA winner Zonke Dikana.

MFR Souls, DJ Maphorisa, Vigro Deep and Kabza De Small took the Best Produced Album award for Scorpion Kings.

James Grace hit the right notes as he claimed the Best Classical Album for his release Andaluza – Music of Spain III. The Best Engineered Album was won by Into Dust/Waltz for Jozi by Peter Auret. The Best Produced Music Video award went to Ofentse Mwase for Fetch Your Life by Prince Kaybee featuring Msaki.

It was the poignant gospel mash up between Dumi Mkokstad and Sbu Noah that bookmarked the fourth night of SAMA26. In a moving tribute to the artists and industry players departed in the last year, the two stars delivered a memorable performance from the empty pews of a church.

Framed by the architecture and religious iconography including the stained windows, Mkokstad touched the soul with Ukuhlala Kuye while Noah raised the roof with Ndikhokhele. It was a cinematic delight to watch as the shafts of light peeped through the windows and the walls of the majestic building landing on their faces.

Some of the names that were memorialised were Joseph Shabalala, Patricia Majalisa, Johnny Clegg, Neyi Zimu, Linda Gcwensa, Nichume Siwundla, Vukani ‘Chilli M’ Masinga and Pheko Kgengoe.

Holding their own were Muzi and Espacio Dios, effortless in their electro and tribal jam session with booming speakers and lights performing Good Vibes Only.  Rock band The Plastics also delivered a solid performance complete with impressive graphics.

Hosts Dineo Langa and Donovan Goliath raised the fashion stakes. She stunned in a dramatic black figure hugging gown by RethaOnline while he looked dapper in a suit by CSquared and Palse. 

Joining Zonke as presenters were Zwai Bala and Shimza. The My Muze reaction crew tickled the funny bone with actor and comedian Tswyza teaming up with gospel legend Dr Rebecca Malope, comedian Skhumba Hlophe and radio personality DJ Ankletap.

Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO commented: “We have hit the home stretch with this year’s edition of the SAMA and we look back with pride for the amazing production, the worthy winners and how South Africans tuned in and streamed the ceremony. Tonight was no different, it was a jam packed episode with lots of emotion and beauty, and we extend our congratulations to the winners for receiving the ultimate award in local music. Tomorrow is a date as we close off the week with a 45-minute finale.”

Rehana Hassim, Executive Head for Digital & Lifestyle at Vodacom said: “Vodacom and My Muze celebrates and congratulates all of tonight’s winners. We are proud to support the industry through our platform, and will further support these artists by making their music and content available to their customers and fans on as a way to keep people connected to what they love, in line with our brand purpose of connecting people for a better future.”

Nomsa Philiso, The director of Local Entertainment Channels at M-Net said: “Tonight has been a remarkable evening of celebrating the best our country has to offer. We congratulate tonight’s winners and we thank the public for their votes and their undying support for local music”. 

  • For the fifth and final night of SAMA26, under the subtheme of #ForThaClub, stream the show on by Vodacom or tune into Mzansi Magic, DStv channel 161 at 9.30pm tomorrow. SAMA26 episodes available on DStv Catch Up

#ForThaCraft Winners

Best Live Audio Visual Recording:

Glory in His Presence by Benjamin Dube

Best Engineered Album:

Into Dust/Waltz for Jozi by Peter Auret

Best Classical Album:

Andaluza – Music of Spain III by James Grace

Female Artist of the Year:

Ami Faku for Imali

Best Produced Music Video:

Fetch Your Life by Ofentse Mwase

Music Video Of The Year:

Jika by AKA featuring Yanga Chief

Lifetime Achievement Award

Benjamin Dube

Facebook Comments