Lifestyle Lifestyle People EventsFashionNews




 Johannesburg, South Africa – Lights. Camera. Fashion. The Feather Awards, one of the most anticipated events on the South African entertainment calendar, concluded its fifteenth annual celebration of diversity and inclusivity in a spectacular soiree this evening.

The glitzy affair, which took place at The Market Theatre, brought together luminaries from the world of entertainment, fashion, and of course activism to recognize and honor outstanding individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to promoting tolerance, inclusivity, and diversity in the LGBTIA+ community over the past year.

Hosted by Refilwe and Bontle Modiselle alongside Andiswa P Gebashe, the Feather Awards XV celebrated the importance of unity, acceptance, and breaking down barriers in society. The evening was filled with quirky antidotes, heartwarming moments, entertainment, and unforgettable performances that captivated the audience and reinforced the message of embracing diversity.

The winners of the Feather Awards XV were selected by a panel of esteemed judges who assessed the nominees in various categories. This year’s recipients demonstrated their unwavering commitment to promoting diversity and inclusivity, and they serve as shining examples to inspire change and acceptance within South Africa and beyond.

Here are the winners of the Feather Awards XV:

Best Styled Individual (JOINT AWARD)

·       PonaHalo and Yaya Mavundla

Hunk of the Year 

·       Thembinkosi Mthembu

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

·       Mrs Mops

Sports Personality of the Year

·       Andile Dlamini

Role model of the Year

·       Tony Kruger

Cutest Couple

·       Buhlebendalo & Botshelo

Hot Chick of the Year

·       Homba Mazaleni

Media Award of the Year (JOINT AWARD)

·       The Lunch League and Sowetan / S Mag

Fag Hag of the Year 

·       Tamara Dey

Designer of the Year

·       Otiz Seflo

Musician of the Year

·       Bongezizwe Mabandla

Socialite (Seen at every opening of an envelope or an erection of a stop sign)

·       Tshiamo

Drama Queen

·       Lebo M

Social Media Personality of the Year  

·       Sabelo The Creator

Best LGBTIQ+ Initiative: Private Sector 

·       Nike

Best LGBTIQ+ Initiative: Public Sector 


Best LGBTIQ+ Youth Movement 

·       Phuti Lekoloane Foundation

Best Rainbow Parenting (JOINT AWARD)

·       Zodwa Rannyadi and Nandipha Jovuka and Abraham Sebidi

African Feather of the Year
·       Samuell Matsikure


This year, the Simon Nkoli Award went to the multi talented, award winning South African sweetheart Thandiswa Mazwai.

The 15th annual Feathers Awards, is produced in partnership with the Thami Dish Foundation.

The event was not only about celebrating the accomplishments of these winners but also served as a platform to inspire change and advocate for a more inclusive and diverse society. The Feather Awards encourages everyone to join the movement and be advocates for a more accepting and eqThe Feather Awards XV: Celebrating Diversity and Inclusivity in 2023 proved to be a resounding success, fostering a sense of unity and love among all attendees. As the event continues to grow in influence and reach, it remains committed to its core values of acceptance and understanding.

              “As a nation, we are going through alot right now. And as a community we always focus on the positive, inspiring not just each other but others with our boldness and braveness and colourful outlook on life. The focus this year was to celebrate the diversity, creativity, and resilience of all communities, during these challenging times”,  commented Thami Kotlolo, co-founder of the Feather Awards. He added “Fifteen years in, tonight was truly overwhelming with huge support from every corner. Congratulations to all our wonderful Feather Awards XV winners! We continue to celebrate you with these awards! See you next year “

For more information, please visit the Feather Awards website or follow them on social media @FeatherAwardsSA. 

Join the conversation using the hashtags #FeatherAwardsXV and  #SolveForX




Founded in 2008 by gay activists Thami Kotlolo and Joe Correira. This LGBTI Awards ceremony creating allies for the LGBTI community; recognizing and commending African queer people doing great things.

Latest news
Trace News, TV, Radios, VOD, Apps