Reflection Eternal (Talib Kweli & Hi-Tek)

Wasting no time for the New Year, hip-hop duo Reflection Eternal, composed of emcee Talib Kweli and DJ Hi-Tek, declares their return and prepare to finally drop their long-waited comeback album “Revolutions Per Minute.” To prove their sincerity and seriousness to fans, the two-man crew dropped a compilation of new tunes for fans just as we peaked into the new year.

Giving hip-hop heads a dose of what they can expect on “Revolutions Per Minute,” Reflection Eternal teamed up with producer Statik Selektah for an official mixtape which dropped on New Year’s Eve. “The RE:Union Mixtape” includes a mixture of unreleased material, classic tracks, and songs that will be on the upcoming album. The duo went back to the basics of their 2000 debut “Train of Thought” as they successful fused Kweli’s quick witted rhymes and the soulful sampled production of both Tek and Selektah. What makes the mixtape even more refreshing is the roster of features: Jay Electronica, J.Cole, Mos Def, Termanology, Royce da 5’9, Styles P, Common, Kool G Rap, Jay-Z, Erykah Badu and more.

Talib Kweli and Hi-Tek came together back in 1997 as they made their first collaboration on an underground artist’s track. That same year, the two decided to join forces and form Reflection Eternal. With Talib as half of the Black Star duo (long with emcee Mos Def), the three emcees arose to the forefront of the newly revived underground hip-hop scene, where numerous acclaimed collaborations followed. In 2000, Kweli and Tek reconnected for the releases of their debut album “Train of Thought.” The album may have not received heavy commercial recognition, but the duo’s debut project injected relevance into the underground hip-hop scene. The album landed in the top five of Billboard’s US Rap charts while hit single “The Blast” peaked at No. 2 and “Move Somethin” peaked at No. 1.

The duo must want their big comeback album to be a complete surprise to listeners. There’s no information about the features or production on the album. But what we do know is “Revolutions Per Minute” is slated to drop February 2010.
Written by Shabazz

Get to know more about their upcoming album, press play:

Get ready for the return of Reflection Eternal with “The RE:Union Mixtape.” Download for free here.

Latest news
Trace News, TV, Radios, VOD, Apps