Lupe Fiasco

We are two weeks away from the public release of Lupe Fiasco’s Lasers. The album is years in the making, with no earlier release from Atlantic Records due to a controversial situation involving the artist’s contract with the record label. But following protests and the petitioning of thousands of Lupe’s loyal fans, Atlantic Records gave the official go ahead for March 8, 2011.

The highly-anticipated album features productions by The Neptunes, Needlz, Alex da Kid, Syience, long-time collaborator Soundtrakk, and many others. Vocal contributors include Trey Songz, John Legend, Skylar Grey, Sway, Matt Mahaffey, Eric Turner, Sarah Green, and MDMA.

His first official single, entitled “The Show Goes On”, was released on October 26, 2010, and his second and recently released single, entitled “Words I Never Said”, reflects Lupe’s conscious perspective on the American political institution.

While many of his fans expect Lupe to retire after the release of Lasers, some still have faith that the Chicago native will continue to craft conscious rap, paving the way for future generations of rap lyricists. And if March 8 is the end of the Fiasco rainbow, let’s kick-push all the way through!

By Marjua Estevez

Have a look at TRACE Urban’s video footage of Lupe visiting France earlier this week…

Latest news
Trace News, TV, Radios, VOD, Apps