Erykah Badu

Soul singer Erykah Badu will release the sequel to her sixth studio album, “New Amerykah, Part II: Return of the Ankh,” on February, 23, 2010.

One year after the release of 2008’s conscious-driven album “New Amerykah Part I: 4th World War,” the 38-year-old is delivering a more “free and full of life” record on New Amerykah, Part II: Return of the Ankh.

Six years in the making, “Return of the Ankh” will remind fans of the old days of “Baduizm” and “Worldwide Underground.” It features contributions from James Poyser, 9th Wonder, Sa-Ra, ?uestlove, Andre 3000 and Lil Wayne.

Some of the 11 stand-out tracks include “Window Seat,” on which she wishes for a window seat for a ticket out of town. “Get Money” pays homage to the Notorious B.I.G. and “Fall in Love,” uses a well versed sample from Eddie Kendrinks’ “Intimate Friends.”

Since the 1997 release of her multi-platinum debut album “Baduizm,” which produced the lead single “On & On,” the soulful singer has been a leading light in the burgeoning Neo-Soul genre.

After six albums and four Grammys, Erykah Badu is once again bringing back her sophisticated style of introspective lyrics, jazzy bass and heavy sound to the spotlight.

In related news, Badu who has recorded 50 songs in all for the album will release a complete LP entitled “Low Down” shortly after “New Amerykah, Part II: Return of the Ankh.”

Written by Valerie Varasse

New Amerykah, Part II: Return of the Ankh tracklist:
01. 20 Feet Tall
02. Window Seat
03. Agitation
04. Get Money
05. Don’t Be Long
06. Love
07. Umm Hmm
08. Fall in Love
09. Incense
10. Out My Mind Just in Time (Part 1) (Undercover Over-Lover)
11. Out My Mind Just in Time (Part 2)

Check out her TRACE interview for the release of “New Amerykah Part I: 4th World War”

Latest news
Trace News, TV, Radios, VOD, Apps